Thursday, May 28, 2009

Circle Line MRT: Bartley to Marymount

The first phase of Circle Line MRT is open to Singapore public. The 5.7km long stretch of Circle Line MRT starts from Bartley station and ends at Marymount station. The remaining 24 stations in the Circle Line is expected to progressively commence operations from next year. The Circle Line covers about 33.3km length in total.

The following is the list of five stations that will be in operation:

CC12 - Bartley MRT Station
CC13 - Serangoon MRT station
CC14 - Lorong Chuan MRT station
CC15 - Bishan MRT station
CC16 - Marymount MRT station

Out of the five stations, two stations will be interchange stations. Serangoon will connect Circle Line passengers to North East Line while Bishan will connect Circle Line to North South Line.

The opening of these five stations will reduce travelling time for public. For example, travel from Bishan to Serangoon could take only 4 minutes compared to about 16 minutes if you take a bus. The new stations will generally help people changing over from North East Line to North South Line and vice versa.


Post a Comment