Monday, January 12, 2009

Singapore Public Holidays 2009

Singapore has a fixed number of holidays for every year. The official holidays are for eleven days a year, even though unofficially most of the companies provide few more holidays during the Chinese New Year period. Singaporeans, most of them, also get half-day off during Christmas Eve, New Year Eve, Deepavali Eve (for Hindus) and Hari Raya Eve (for Muslims). If a public holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday will be considered as a holiday. 

The following is the list of public holidays in Singapore for the year 2009.

1. January 1, Thursday - New Year
2. January 26, Monday - Chinese New Year First Day
3. January 27, Tuesday - Chinese New Year Second Day
4. April 10, Friday - Good Friday
5. May 1, Friday - Labour Day
6. May 9, Saturday - Vesak Day
7. August 9, Sunday - National Day (Aug 10 will be a holiday in lieu)
8. September 20, Sunday - Hari Raya Aidilfitri (Sep 21 will be a holiday in lieu)
9. November 15, Sunday - Deepavali (Nov 16 will be a holiday in lieu)
10.November 27, Friday - Hari Raya Haji
11.December 25, Friday - Christmas


Post a Comment