Monday, August 31, 2009

Chennai Metro Rail: An Introduction

The proposed/ under construction Chennai Metro Rail consists of two corridors, corridor 1 running from Washermanpet to Airport and corridor 2 running from Chennai Central to St. Thomas Mount. The lines will meet each other at Chennai Central in the north and at Alandur in the south.

The Metro line, MRTS and suburban lines will have interchanges which will provide scope for commuters to switch lines seamlessly. Commuters on the Washermanpet to Airport metro line can switch over to the Beach-Tambaram suburban line at Guindy. St. Thomas Mount provides connectivity from the MRTS to the metro line. If you are planning to board long-distance buses or alighting from them at the mofussil bus terminus in Koyambedu, you can use the Central to St Thomas Mount metro line.

The proposed stations along the two corridors are as follows (the names and the number of stations are indicative only):

Corridor 1:
1. Washermanpet
2. Mannadi
3. High Court
4. Chennai Central (Interchange with Corridor 1)
5. Govt Estate
6. LIC
7. Thousand Lights
8. Gemini
9. Teynampet
10. Chamiers Road
11. Saidapet
12. Little Mount
13. Guindy
14. Alandur (Interchange with Corridor 1)
15. Officer’s Training Academy
16. Meenambakkam
17. Chennai Airport

Corridor 1 covers an estimated total length of 23.1 kms. The stretch from Washermanpet to Saidapet will be underground, approximately 14.3 kms.

Corridor 2:
1. Chennai Central
2. Egmore
3. Nehru Park
4. Kilpauk Medical College
5. Pachaiappa’s College
6. Shenoy Nagar
7. Anna Nagar East
8. Anna Nagar Tower
9. Thirumangalam
10. Koyambedu
11. CMBT
12. Arumbakkam
13. Vadapalani
14. Ashok Nagar
15. KK Nagar
17. Alandur
18. St. Thomas Mount

Corridor 2 covers an estimated total length of 22.0 kms. The stretch from Chennai Central to Thirumangalam will be underground, approximately 9.7 kms.


Post a Comment